SA College of Music Concerts update September

Dear Friends of the College

In light of this highly stressful period in South Africa, as well as UCT’s suspension of classes this week, we have decided to postpone the 2019 [ZA]ARTSONG competition from this Wednesday 11 September to 20th of February 2020, also at 1 pm.

Below is an updated list of our lunchtime concerts for the remainder of this term. Remember, if you would like to double check on the day that the concert has not needed to be postponed for any reason, please call Milton Meyer on (021) 650 2640.

We do, however, have a concert next Wednesday at 4 pm that will be of a very high standard. Sakhile Humbane (flute) will perform his BMus Honours (Performance) MAJOR Recital, accompanied by Albie van Schalkwyk. Here is his programme:

Partita for solo flute in A minor, BWV 1013 – J.S. Bach

Ballade for flute and piano – P. Gaubert

Marimba for solo flute – H. Hofmeyr

Joueurs de flute – A. Roussel

Sonata for flute and piano in D major – S. Prokofiev

Admission is free.

 

Next week the we are proud to present our annual SACM Jazz Festival over three days.
Tuesday 10 September/Baxter Concert Hall:
A celebration of the music of Darryl Andrews
UCT Big Band conducted by Mike Campbell, in tribute to Darryl Andrews
The Darryl Andrews Band revival! – conducted by Darryl Andrews with special guests.

Wednesday 11 September/Baxter Concert Hall:
Synergy of the Unknown (Final year Jazz Master Class project)
Friends Like These (Damian Kamineth and Jesse Julies project)
Rick Deja’s Pan African Jazz and Popular Music Ensemble

Thursday 12 September/Chisholm Recital Room:
UCT Jazz Voices
UCT Jazz Small Ensembles concert and competition

Normal SACM evening prices apply, and all UCT students may attend for free on presentation of their valid student card.

 

I look forward to seeing you all at the concerts.

Regards

Gillian Lindner

Concerts Co-ordinator

 

All at 13h00 (except Wed 11 September) DAYTIME CONCERTS SECOND SEMESTER 2019
FOURTH TERM
Wednesday 11 September

At 4 pm, not 1 pm

C7 at 16h00 Sakhile Humbane (flute), Albie van Schalkwyk (piano)

ZAartsong competition postponed to 20 February 2020.

Thursday 12 September C7 or S4 DP rescue concert (5 solo items – short concert)
Wednesday 18 September C7 Pan African Jazz and Popular Music (Rick Deja)
Thursday 19 September C7 Percussion – Ergonomix – (Frank Mallows)
Wednesday 25 September C7 Flutes – (Bridget Rennie Salonen)
Thursday 26 September C7 Flutes – (Liesl Stoltz)
Wednesday 2 October C7 Composition A (last students’ showcase on 8 October)
Thursday 3 October C7 Composition B (last students’ showcase on 8 October)
Wednesday 9 October C7 Composition C (day after the showcase)
Thursday 10 October C7 (last one) Classical Guitar students – (James Grace)
Wednesday 23 October C7 Jazz Ensemble (exam)
Wednesday 30 October Baxter Piano prizes: Bowman, James de Villiers, Robert Andrews
Thursday 31 October Baxter Piano prizes ctd, if necessary
Wednesday 6 November Baxter/C7 Chamber (exam)
Thursday 7 November Baxter/C7 Chamber (exam)
Date to be determined C7 or C9 Surround Sound presented by 3A music tech